Frugal Accomplishments & Weekly Meal Plan

I posted a few days ago about how I don’t usually rigidly follow a meal plan, even if I do love the planning. I’m continuing to plan because I like doing it, but I think I’ll also track what we eat each week just to see how much it differs from what I’ve planned. The following items are on my cooking list for this week:

  • Mushroom, Spinach & Sun-dried Tomato Risotto — we had a similar risotto at the Pampered Chef party I attended earlier this week and I’m sure I can make it at home despite not owning a “rockpot”. 🙂
  • Loaded Baked Potato Soup, from Slow Cooker Revolution by America’s Test Kitchen. Getting started on my goal of cooking from all these cookbooks!
  • Chicken Lightly Seasoned, Mashed Sweet Potatoes, Roasted Cauliflower
  • Egg Casserole, SautĂ©ed Spinach
  • Fettuccine Alfredo, Honeyed Carrots

I also want to complete the following kitchen tasks this week:

  • Make Chex Mix
  • Make granola
  • Bake and shred potatoes to keep in freezer for quick hash browns
  • Soak and cook 4 cups dried black beans for a freezer cooking experience with a friend (we’re making veggie burgers)
  • Tidy the pantry
  • Re-paper at least two sets of cabinets (I am replacing/covering over the lovely ivy patterned contact paper lining the shelves in said cabinets)
  • Clean out and organize the fridge
  • Procure buckets for the bulk food purchases I made last week.

In addition, I’d like to do the following this week:

  • Clear out garden beds and plant lettuce, kale, parsley
  • Turnover compost beds and renew efforts in that regard
  • Write everyday
  • Go through at least one box of stored stuff
  • Walk, run or workout everyday

Highlights from my last week in terms of frugal accomplishments include the following:

  • Filled my car up with gas at $2.07/gallon
  • Picked up 50 lbs of beans at the LDS home storage center (25 lbs each of white beans and black beans) for $30.
  • Ordered 50 lbs of rolled oats from the natural food store — they did go on sale this month and the savings over the regular price is almost $17 for fifty pounds. The sale price is .99/lb, so my total for this purchase is just under $50. This amount of oats should last us quite a while.
  • Combined errands to use the least amount of gas possible.
  • Found apples for .79/lb at Save-a-Lot. While there I also picked up a couple of 4 lb bags of pinto beans, onions at .33/lb, potatoes at $2.99/8 lbs, and 3 bags of oyster crackers for .99/each.
  • Used birthday rewards at various places to treat myself to little things like a cup of coffee and a cupcake at no cost.
  • Re-read books I already have and/or read books I hadn’t read yet rather than buy new e-books (This is a bad habit I have–buying books at “bargain” prices even when I have books on my reader that I haven’t even started. And, yes, I’m a librarian — I know that I can borrow books and e-books from my library–in fact, I do that a lot. But there are certain authors / books that are available through my library that I’d still like to read. And that’s what I end up buying.)
  • Gave myself a manicure. I’m terrible at this but figure the only way to improve is to keep doing it. And it’s cheap fun since I have more than enough polish and nail supplies to keep me occupied well into the next century, probably.
2 thoughts on “Frugal Accomplishments & Weekly Meal Plan

  1. I dropped by from The Prudent Homemaker. I really liked your blog! Simple, easy to read and fun. Your meal plan sounds great and your kitchen plans energetic!! Try Lowes Home Stores for your buckets. They are around $ 4.00 each if you buy 5 or more. They also have Gamma lids for $7.25, white only. If you can find buckets, bakeries, restaurants, Fast Food stores, your only expense would be the lids. Good luck and keep writing.

    1. Hi! Thanks for the suggestions — I actually was able to get a couple of buckets from the local grocery store and plan to check out Lowes for the larger size as well.

Comments are closed.